Close this search box.

Kiwis snag international landscape spots

2 September 2014

Three New Zealand photographers have made the finalist list in a new landscape photography competition seeking out 101 of the best landscape images from throughout the globe.
Images from local photographers Allan Cox, Roger Wandless and Michael Norrie are featured in the top 101 list in the inaugural International Landscape Photographer of the Year competition, and will also be published in the resulting awards book.

The competition was established by prominent Australian photographers Peter Eastway, David Evans and Nathan Oxley to celebrate excellence and diversity in landscape photography the world over.

In its first year the competition’s top three spots were all taken by Australian photographers – Christian Fletcher in first place, Tom Putt in second and Will Dielenberg in third place for the title of 2014 International Landscape Photographer of the Year.

The competition also awards a special prize for the single best overall image, as opposed to the portfolio-based primary award, which this year went to Craig Perry, also of Australia, followed by Putt in second and Netherlands photographer Bas Meelker in third.

There are five special, possibly toungue-in-cheek, themed awards on the programme, which acknowledged some of the most common subjects and styles in landscape photography: The Lonely Tree Award, The Jetty Award, The Sunset Award, The Fuzzy Water Award and The Hot Location Award.

You can view those winning images, along with the New Zealand finalists and overall winners in the gallery below.

Allan CoxAllan Cox, New Zealand, Top 101

Roger WandlessRoger Wandless, New Zealand, Top 101

Michael NorrieMichael Norrie, New Zealand, Top 101

Christian FletcherChristian Fletcher, Australia, 2014 International Landscape Photographer of the Year

 Craig ParryCraig Parry, Australia, 2014 International Landscape Photograph of the Year

 Mark SeawellMark Seawell, Germany, The Lone Tree Award

 David AndersonDavid Anderson, Australia, The Jetty Award

 Marcos FurerMarcos Furer, Argentina, The Sunset Award

 Ted GrambeauTed Grambeau, Australia, The Fuzzy Water Award

 Bas MeelkerBas Meelker, Netherlands, The Hot Location Award (Iceland)

Check out all the full list of 101 winners, along with prize and judging details, at the International Landscape Photographer of the Year competition website.