Close this search box.

World Photo awards after New Zealand’s best

31 October 2014

Into the Bend

Peter Graney

There are more than 4 million people in the country and the hunt is on to find New Zealand’s single best photographer.

In conjunction with Sony New Zealand, Sony World Photography Awards opens the New Zealand National Award competition to Kiwi photographers of all abilities. There are 10 different categories participants can choose to enter, but there will only be a single overall winner selected.

The categories include architecture, arts and culture, enhanced, low-light, nature and wildlife, panoramic, people, smile, split second, and travel.

Entries are open now and, better yet, it’s completely free to submit your images to the contest. Cutting-edge Sony digital equipment and the opportunity to have their image exhibited at Somerset House in London, as part of the 2015 Sony World Photography Awards Competition are up for grabs by the winner.

Entries close January 5, 2015 and the winner will be announced on March 18, 2015.

Above is the image by 2014 New Zealand National Award-winner Peter Garney; images by second place-winner Joshua Donnelly and third place-winner Andrew Cornaga follow.

Joshua Donnelly

Hyrd8 Zero Explosion - Fight Night, 13 June 2013

Andrew Cornaga